Plan Now! MFGRC Offering Year-End Awards for Eligible Members

The Mid-Florida Golden Retriever Club will once again be offering year-end awards for members and their dogs who accomplish great things in 2018.

The club will offer “Dog of the Year” awards in the categories of show, tracking, field, obedience, rally and agility along with a “Versatility Dog of the Year.”

Members must apply for the awards with an application that will be made available late in the summer.

The award period is from Dec. 1, 2017, through Nov. 29, 2018. Dogs must reside with the person making the application. To be eligible for any award, the club member must have volunteered/worked at two club functions (or equivalent work for the club) during the awards period and attended one of the club’s general meetings.

New Title Rosettes for MFGRC Members

All members of the Mid-Florida Golden Retriever Club who earn new titles for their dogs during calendar year 2017 are eligible to receive a new title rosette from the club. The rosettes will be similar to this one from 2016:

If your dog has won a new title in 2017, please email the full name of the dog and what the title earned was to MFGRC vice president Ann Rowe. Ann will order the rosettes later this year and make them available for pickup early next year.

Ann’s email address is Deadline for submissions is December 31, 2017.

MFGRC Announces Year-End Award Recipients

The Mid-Florida Golden Retriever Club announced its 2016 year-end awards recipients and winners at the club’s annual Christmas party on Dec. 16 at the home of Dee Thibodeaux in Sorrento, Fla.

2016 Year-End Dog and Competition Awards

Field Dog of the Year
GCH Richwood Wing-T Workin’ Like A Dog MH WCX DDHF (Ballyhoo)
Owner: Anney Doucette

Versatility Dog of the Year
Mach Deauxquest it’s A Hot UD RN MXC MJC DJ (Sizzle)
Owner: Dee and John Thibodeaux

Obedience Dog of the Year
Mach Deauxquest it’s A Hot UD RN MXC MJC DJ (Sizzle)
Owner: Dee and John Thibodeaux

Agility Dog of the Year
MACH2 Knox’s Singing My Praises MXG MJC MFB TQX T2B4 CA DJ (Singer)
Owner: Pat Carlile

Fallchase Owner-Handler Award:
Anney Doucette

2016 Year-End Club Member Awards

Mover and Shaker Award
Pat Carlile

Above and Beyond Award
John Thibodeaux

Lloyd Kiernan Award:
Andy Hall

Members of the Year
Tom and T.J. Misilo

MFGRC Reminders


The MFGRC Board of Directors has approved the point system in the attached document below. The dates for the awards run from December 7th, 2015 through December 10th, 2016. ALL information MUST be received by December 12th, 2016. NO SUBMISSION WILL BE ACCEPTED AFTER THAT DATE. To be eligible for an award dogs must reside with the person making the application and that person MUST have attended two meetings and volunteered/worked at a club function. Forms may be mailed or-emailed. Fill in the information below – and submit with the appropriate area you are applying for.
All information, conformation, field, tracking, agility, obedience, versatility, and rally should be sent to: Ann Rowe at 23840 Oak Valley Lane, Sorrento, FL 32776 or via Email:


Please see for more information

Christmas Party/General Meeting

Our final general meeting of 2016 will be our annual Christmas Party. At this meeting, we’ll install the officers and board members for 2017 and celebrate a fun and successful year for the club.

We ask that everyone please bring a side dish (we’ll provide main courses) and also please bring a gift for the gift exchange! (does not have to be dog-related)

Date: Saturday, December 17, 2016 
Time: 6:00 pm—?
Where: Home of Dee Thibodeaux, 36752 Nashua Blvd., Sorrento, FL 32776

Membership Renewals

Membership renewals for 2017 are now due. Rates will remain the same – $25 for individual, family or associate membership categories. 

Please indicate your category, make your check payable to MFGRC and mail to:

Dee Thibodeaux
36752 Nashua Blvd.
Sorrento, FL 32776

If you will be attending the Christmas party, you can bring your check to Dee there. Also, people who have become club members in November do not have to renew for 2017; their membership will carry over.